Make the Switch… Automatically


There’s always been pressure on higher education institutions to deliver quality experiences to their students, and this priority has recently extended to remote learners. After all, tuition paid comes with an expectation of results, no matter the location!

To tackle this, some schools are thinking outside of the box – literally. Distance learners often view their professor lecturing from a small square in the lower right side of their screens, with interactive class environments filled with their classmates’ faint disembodied voices. Now remote students can experience discussions more inclusively, with cameras tracking in-person participants as they converse.

Introducing Q-SYS Automatic Camera Preset Recall v2.0 Plugin

With the redesigned Q-SYS Automatic Camera Preset Recall v2.0 plugin (produced in partnership with QSC and Sennheiser – now available in the Q-SYS Designer Asset Manager), the switch to even more immersive experiences is further enabled. This update to the highly popular version one adds the much-anticipated addition of generic fixed or multi-lobe/zone microphone compatibility – up to ninety channels of individual microphones, or up to ten Sennheiser Team Connect Ceiling 2 microphones. Pinpoint accuracy for Sennheiser TCC2 microphones is further increased by the addition of vertical coordinate support to the existing horizontal coordinates.  Version two also includes a beta feature that lets you enlist primary and secondary cameras to hide any unwanted transition movement.

The plugin continues to supports Q-SYS camera position presets based on the speaker’s location. The proximity of the speaker’s voice is then evaluated in relation to the microphone and the Q-SYS conference camera presets that were defined for that room are automatically recalled. The microphone will switch between talkers in milliseconds, and default to the loudest speaker if two people speak simultaneously.

To make getting started easy, a sample design referencing version two as well as the Sennheiser TCC2 plugin (also available in the Q-SYS Designer Asset Manager) is bundled with the download. Signal wiring for both single and multiple TCC2s as well as discreet microphones with multiple channels all live within the sample design.

Now those disembodied voices have faces: the student’s classmates. Remote students can now put a fuller identity to Cindy, who always asks amazing questions, or Luca, who realllllly only raises his hand so he can hear himself talk. This not only aids in knowledge retention, but also gossip fuel for study sessions. And isn’t that what higher education is all about?

Live Demo – Register Today!

To learn more about the QSC Automatic Camera Preset Recall v2.0 and higher education digital environments, check out the upcoming webinar taking place October 12, 2021.

Webinar Session 1: Oct 12 at 8am PST / 11am EST / 4pm BST / 5pm CEST

Webinar Session 2: Oct 12 at 4pm PT / Oct 13 at 7am HKT / 8am JST / 9am AEST

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

14 + 13 =